hostsasebo.blogg.se

Marshall Dsl 100 Head Reviews
marshall dsl 100 head reviews


















  1. MARSHALL DSL 100 HEAD REVIEWS PLUS EVEN MORE
  2. MARSHALL DSL 100 HEAD REVIEWS INSTALL A WGS
  3. MARSHALL DSL 100 HEAD REVIEWS UPGRADE WOULD BE

The Marshall DSL40C was a best-seller at Andertons Music Co. In order to offer an objective review.The Early Marshall ValveState VS-100 Sleeper Amps - With a Speaker UpgradeThe DSL amplifiers introduced in the late 90s featured pure valve-powered goodness, but at a more than attainable price. Marshall SC20H Studio Classic Head & ComboThe all-valve JCM800 2203 is one of the most highly respected 100W Marshall heads in the companys long history. The iconic 1959 Super Lead 100 (Plexi) has been lovingly recreated, offering the pure old-school rock tones of yesteryear. In the spirit of reissues like the JCM900, Marshall have resurrected a few of their other classic amp models to satisfy the cravings of nostalgia-loving tone hunters.

Rather than get too wordy, I'll use bullet-points, and I will NOT get into techno-babble (your welcome).Those familiar with the DSL legacy will know that the 100-watt head version is the boss of the bunch. In a nutshell, the (much more expensive) DSL really disappointed me, while the VS was way cooler than expected. A couple weeks back two Marshall amps arrived in my shop for repair, one was a DSL 40 full tube amp and the other was a early 90's VS100. However, with production ending in 2017, the legend is no more sadlyOkay, before I jump into why I truly believe the early Marshall Valvestate VS100 is indeed a terribly overlooked "sleeper amp", I need to tell you how I discovered these amps.

The VS sported a UK made Celestion speaker. The VS was actually made in ENGLAND, the way a Marshall should be!!! The VS had separate verb controls for clean and dirty channels, yes! Why don't all amps have this? Brilliant. The Valvestate was much more versatile, delivering better Fender type cleans, as well as better scooped metal tones. The Valvestate had way more authoritative and solid bottom-end. The Valvestate had a MUCH better looking circuit board, more robust, better lay-out, and easier to work on.

And here, while there was more of a pronounced difference between the two amps. So next I A/B'd it to my favorite dual-channel combo, a Fender Super-Sonic 22. The VS "Power Dimension" switch really re-voices the amp, again making it excellent for lower volume levels.I set up an A/B switch to switch between the tow amps, and found the VS better at every tone over the DSL.

marshall dsl 100 head reviews

Marshall Dsl 100 Head Reviews Install A WGS

I can install a WGS Invader 12" Speaker to give the amp the characteristic greenback mid growl I'd like to have a bit more of. If I really wanted it, I could add a headphone jack for a few bucks in parts, but I'd probably never use it anyway. But I'll probably use a verb pedal. If I really wanted to, I could install a longer reverb tank for about twenty bucks from someplace like Allparts.

Marshall Dsl 100 Head Reviews Upgrade Would Be

Marshall Dsl 100 Head Reviews Plus Even MORE

Stay tuned, another great sleeper amp is up next!I just recently picked up my electric guitar and this Valvestate VS100 again, which have been sleeping in the basement for about 20 years (I know, it's a shame). Another fantastic speaker upgrade would be the British Lead, which would add in a little more urgent midrange, plus even MORE solid bottom end. And yes, the Invader would be my #1 suggestion.

I could go for the recomended WGS 12" Invader, but I got my hands on a good second hand ET90 and I was really amazed by the sound!! What a sweet dream this Valvestate has become!! On low volume (bedroom level) as well as in a gig (full throttle): she just cuts right in your face, through any- and everything. After reading this blog, first, I gave the VS 100 a good clean up, a new tube and most important: changed the stock Goldback Speaker. I always believed sound was mainly "in your fingers", till now. She's still a great amp, making a lot of noise (and humming).I've never really been into modifing and upgrading, I bought a really cheap Code 25 and that was enough for at home. After that I got carried away and build my own 'partcaster' (Squier neck, body probably Fender and pickguard from a Strat Deluxe, with three Vintage Noiseless 3 single coils pick ups).I didn't touch the Valvstate, just plugged straight in, like I did in the '90 and it played just like that, with all the dust an moist, like nothing ever happened.

I really like the WGS and as a tattooer I also like the design at the back, which, of course, doesn't make any sense, but to me it's a very pleasent side issue.

marshall dsl 100 head reviews